On April 28th, 2017 Worcester Railers Hockey Club (@RailersHC) President Michael G. Myers announced that the club reached an affiliation agreement with the New York Islanders (@NYIslanders) of the National Hockey League (@NHL) for the 2017-18 season. Worcester joined the Bridgeport Sound Tigers (@TheSoundTigers) of the American Hockey League (@TheAHL) as the primary minor league affiliates for the Islanders organization.

“We are excited to partner with the Worcester Railers Hockey Club as our new ECHL affiliate and bring professional hockey back to an already established hockey city,” Islanders President and General Manager Garth Snow said. “The proximity of having our ECHL team within driving distance from Bridgeport and the Islanders is a definite benefit.  The Railers ownership in Cliff Rucker, has set a platform for our prospects to develop their game in their brand new practice facility, the Worcester Ice Center.  We’ve had several members of the current Islanders team play games in the ECHL and look forward to continuing that trend with the Railers.”

Several Islanders prospects saw time in the ECHL last season, including Matthew Finn, Eamon McAdam, Carter Verhaeghe, Kyle Schempp and Jesse Graham. Players that finished the 2016-17 season with the Islanders, who spent a portion of their careers in the ECHL, include J.F. Berube, Thomas Greiss, Jaroslav Halak and Alan Quine.  In addition, Thomas Greiss and Bracken Kearns both saw significant time in Worcester with the now defunct Worcester Sharks.








About the New York Islanders

Founded in 1972, the New York Islanders Hockey Club is the proud winner of four Stanley Cup Championships. Keep up with breaking Islanders news on Twitter @NYIslandersPR. For more team information, log on to nhl.com/islanders